Posted by: bazzpugh | January 19, 2016

Three Visitors Lake LLandod.

057Met Shirley up the lake and she asked me had I seen the strange ducks near the beach area ….Well I hadn’t.. but here they are… on first sighting one would assume they were young fem mallard but the size (Teal size) bills different and very tame. Steve H put some feed down and they got out of the water and  wolfed it down…..Probably some Hybrid escapees from a nearby pond….any body throw some light ?????? Well done Shirley for spotting them.

047 

Responses

  1. look like call duck types to me

  2. I agree with Sally that they are call ducks, usually kept as pets or show birds, these particular birds I think maybe known as khaki

  3. Cheers both, I’ve just looked them up….as you so rightly identify Syd …..khaki call ducks ….I have not come across them , thanks for the info.

  4. I saw them today and one of them appeared to limping quite badly

  5. I’m glad you had a sighting Anthea….we were up earlyish this A.M no sign..but Joy and Carole T found them this afternoon….this limping must have happened recently they were fine when we pictured them late yesterday afternoon.

  6. Well folks this is where the blog comes into it’s own…..due to its popularity there is always an answer or an I.D of the unusual , commented on.


Add a Comment

Categories

